Guebukanmonyet!

Indonesians love blackberry

Posted on: February 10, 2009

This one is a funny story.

While I was in the United States, I didn’t have one friend who was using a blackberry phone. Not even one. Back in Jakarta I see blacberry phones everywhere.

It seems to me, a lot of people (from all ages) in Jakarta use blackberry. I can name more than 10 friends who use blackberry.

I don’t know what’s the condition right now in America; whether or not more people have used blackberry phones, but what I saw was that only people who were real busy and important (like businessmen) used blackberry in America. Here in Indonesia, it’s a usual thing to see a 15-year-old boy carrying this advanced gadget.

I guess we Indonesians just love to get connected. No wonder Nokia is the number 1 cellular brand because it’s connecting people. The reason why I say that is because most people I know use blackberry for chatting with their friends and updating their Facebook status. Don’t laugh, it’s true.

But as a person who hasn’t been in love with blackberry, I find it very annoying to be with someone who’s using a blackberry. That stupid phone beeps all the time. It beeps for a new message, it beeps for a new chatting line, it beeps for a new e-mail, and it beeps for a new Facebook message. Damn.

I’m not trying to make Indonesian blackberry users look stupid. If you like the damn gadget, please have fun. Even Obama is a fan (something that upsets Apple guys).

13 Responses to "Indonesians love blackberry"

I was talking about this topic with my best friends the other day: The black berry phenomenon. It’s because if we walk around in a mall, esp on weekends, we’ll see this gadgets everywhere, carried by some teenagers who, in our opinion, don’t even need the gadget so much. Because we understand that blackberry is very useful for checking emails and keeping in touch with your business partners and stuff. Thus, it is very useful if you’re a businessman, public figure, or whom-so-ever important; but not when you’re just some teenagers (or even college students), who only use BB for..facebook-ing? Geesh, PUH-LEASE.

So, I don’t get it why some people think that they NEED to own a blackberry, I just don’t. As long as my cell phone is good for making phone calls, texting, listening to music, and may be for checking my facebook every once in a while, my life is doing just fine without a BB.

Aih Tasa, I know loads of people who use Blackberry who are not in business or are “important” like Obama. They also do not use them to update their facebook status, though they can utilize this option.
At first, I too was askance at the popularity of Blackberry, but then after using it and realizing the possibilities it can open up for people, my position on it has grown softer.

And perhaps the individuals whose Blackberry usage we question actually do use it for beneficial reasons. A friend has an IPhone to help check on her classes online, it is easier to use she says. Another uses Blackberry to communicate with her sister in Indonesia, and has even used it to enhance her writing skills due to its ease of use and portability.

I don’t think technology should be limited to certain groups because of our own perceptions/feelings, even if they are used to show a person’s status or power.
In my work, it is the I-phone (along with the Blackberry) that has confirmed one’s rise in the office ranks, and at times, one’s popularity.
I am still sticking to my old flip phone with a camera that does not work, but if say, my carrier decides to offer a Blackberry or touch-phone for a good deal, I wouldn’t mind switching.

yah masih petantang petenteng sama do’i…harganya kan rada lumayan dibanding kelas menengah kebawah kali ya heuheu

Nadia: Yes yes you’re right… I wouldn’t mind switching to Blacberry too if someone gave it for free. Hehe.. Sometimes it’s just so annoying to be with someone whose blacberry keeps beeping and beeping!

I remember when I was in Indonesia, I tended to follow the trends. I mean, if there’s Nokia new version and very popular, I surely had one. Now, I live abroad, I do not do it anymore, I just don’t. I think maybe it’s the environment that helps me.
You’re right, Tasa. Only very busy (wo)men have it. Not just everyone like in Indonesia, sometimes they even have to pay monthly for that.*sigh*

I am happy with my N95 which was given free to me from my Oil and Gas Company. Without BB I can live…
The rest of my money can go to my saving account.
Yeah… Life is good…, especially if you can be free from “Jaim-ness”😀

I jus hope if I get back to Indonesia, I won’t be caught by the stream anymore, hehe.

Salam. Thank you Tasa for sharing.

LOL. Interesting piece on Indonesian Blackberry users habit…

@ Vienz…Dear , your comment shows how shallow your knowledge are, and fyi, blackberry is equipped with viigo application which not only give you push mail but also push news means you will keep update with any news around the world with rss subscribe, so if a teenage has it, don’t generalize. You can do blog as well as blogwalking with bb. You can track your expense wiyh Xpenser application and organize task with Mara tick. So,dear,don’t judge people by their age, mind you it is their own money.

aha…
i am living in Jogja…
there are several friends here who also use this gadget…
so i could imagine how many people use blackberry in Jakarta…🙂

WTS New BlackBerry Bold Unlocked $300

( Store Promotional Sales Offer – Buy 2 Units And Get 1 Unit FREE )

3G iPhone 16gb at $280USD
NOKA 5800 at $250USD
Sony ericsson xperia $310USD

Blackberry Bold 9000 at $300USD
Blackberry Curve 8320 at $220USD
Blackberry 8830 $260USD
Blackberry Storm 9500 Touch Screen at $340USD

Details
Item :BlackBerry Bold
Price :300$
Currency :USD$
Condition : 10/10
Includes :Full box with all accesories

Package Contents
Blackberry bold
Battery
Mains Charger
Software CD
Data Cable
Carry Case

Selling Details
Location :USA
Willing to Ship :Worldwide
Payment Methods :Wire Transfer

C.Isabel Laman
Sales Dept/Marketing.
Company Name:Aloha Telephone Inc
Email: aloha.tel_inc@rocketmail.com
MSN:aloha.tel_inc@live.com
SKYPE:Isabel.laman

Hello mr Laman, that for your service.

Shipping was so fat, when the door bell rang,i could not believe it.

One of the great things about the BlackBerry is all the great apps that you can run on it.

For example, Salat from Islam Apps provides prayer times based on current location (either through GPS or BlackBerry maps). You can check it out at the following link:

http://www.salatapp.com

Badr

WTS New BlackBerry Bold Unlocked $300

( Store Promotional Sales Offer – Buy 2 Units And Get 1 Unit FREE )

Apple Iphone 3G 8GB $260USD
Apple Iphone 8GB $240USD
Apple Iphone 4GB $200USD
Apple iphone 3G 16GB $280

Nokia N96 (16GB) ….$340USD
Nokia E90 …$280USD
Nokia N95 8GB $270USD
NOkia 5800..$250USD

Samsung i900 Omnia 8GB.$260USD
Samsung i900 Omnia 16GB.$280USD

Sony Ericsson C905 $280
Sony Ericsson XPERIA™ X1 Solid Black $300usd

Blackberry Bold 9000 at $300USD
Blackberry Curve 8320 at $220USD
Blackberry 8830 $260USD
Blackberry Storm 9500 Touch Screen at $340USD

Details
Item :BlackBerry Bold
Price :300$
Currency :USD$
Condition : 10/10
Includes :Full box with all accesories

Package Contents
Blackberry bold
Battery
Mains Charger
Software CD
Data Cable
Carry Case

Selling Details
Location :USA
Willing to Ship :Worldwide
Payment Methods :Wire Transfer

C.Isabel Laman
Sales Dept/Marketing.
Company Name:Aloha Telephone Inc
Email: aloha.tel_inc@rocketmail.com
MSN:aloha.tel_inc@live.com
SKYPE:Isabel.laman

Leave a Reply

Read My Articles on

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

About Me

guebukanmonyet is Tasa Nugraza Barley. He's a free man with unique thoughts and dreams. He sees his life and this world differently from anyone else. That's because he knows what he wants; and for that reason he doesn't want to be the same. Read why he blogs, here.

Contact Me

guebukanmonyet@gmail.com

Categories

Copyright©2009

All articles and essays were written by guebukanmonyet. Before commenting remember that Life Accepts Differences.
